P2112308

I learned from Eastern meditation a method of reflection whose Americanized name is “Pillow Pause”. You place the problem as you define it on top of the pillow. At each side, you place your response. You act when your response leads you peacefully to do so, when thought and emotion harmonize and come in tune with the greatest good that you are capable of at that point in your spiritual journey. If none of the four responses leads you peacefully, you flip the pillow and challenge yourself to reinterpret “the problem”. You may continue to flip the pillow as many times as necessary. I’ve never in 20 years quit in frustration before being lead. My choices today are not the same as a year ago because I am in a different place on the journey, but I can expect no more of myself than my development allows. The practice of this meditation has gradually caused me without purposeful exercise of the meditation to find less and less reason to judge and more and more ways to act with empathy.

